Tinder Will Now Let Users Block People in Their Phone Contacts to Avoid Awkward Encounters on the App

Social

Tinder will finally be letting users avoid all their exes, friends, colleagues, relatives, and anyone else they might not want to run into on a dating app. The company announced today that it will start allowing people to block their phone contacts.

According to The Verge, romance-seekers can access the feature from their settings, under the Block Contacts menu, where they can define which contact they would like to block, meaning these people will not surface for them, and vice versa.

Users can either upload their full contacts list to Tinder or add them individually. Tinder said it will not store everyone’s contacts, only the ones they have chosen to block and people can unblock or disconnect their contacts list at any time.

Blocked contacts will not be notified they have been blocked. There is no easy way of knowing if an ex or other undateworthy person even has a Tinder account, it’s more of a preventative measure. If a blocked individual has since changed their phone number and joins Tinder, their account could still surface.

Those who wanted to avoid the possibility of an awkward digital run-in forever, this might, finally, give them a fighting chance at doing so.


Interested in cryptocurrency? We discuss all things crypto with WazirX CEO Nischal Shetty and WeekendInvesting founder Alok Jain on Orbital, the Gadgets 360 podcast. Orbital is available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Amazon Music and wherever you get your podcasts.

Articles You May Like

Samsung Galaxy A14 5G Listed on Geekbench Again, to Feature Android 13: Details
Huawei, ZTE Sale, Import Banned in US After Being Listed as Threats by FCC
Black Friday Sale India, Cyber Monday 2022: Best Deals on Electronics, Games, More
Realme 10 Pro+ Price in India Teased to Be Below Rs. 25,000 Ahead of Launch
Meta Spokesperson Denies Report of CEO Mark Zuckerberg Resigning in 2023